Breaking Dawn Pt 1

***SPOILER ALERT***

The-Twilight-Saga-Breaking-Dawn-2011-Movie-Poster-1

So I went and saw Breaking Dawn Part 1 as a midnight showing. I went with my friend, Melissa. She wanted to go see it as soon as she could and I wanted to see it in general, so off we went. I was surprised that they were only screening it in four theaters. I have been to a couple of midnight shows where the whole theater was turned over and I figured for this one, it would have been.

The movie was actually not too bad. It had a lot of cheesy parts and fluff. There were some hokey parts, but overall, entertaining. I was super surprised at Kristen Stewart’s performance. She was positively Oscar worthy compared to her performance in all of the other movies. She smiled, she looked real… there was tons less head-tilt-bite-lip and vacant-eyed-slack-jaw-stares. Not sure if she finally googled her previous performances or what, but I was pleasantly surprised about that. Actually, it seems like most everyone kinda stepped up their performance. Not to say that it was actually stellar, but it was good enough.

I also liked that when Bella was getting married, she did not have a manicure. It would have been out of character for her to have had perfect nails and I liked that whoever was in charge of that kept that in mind. I suppose one could always assume Alice talked her into it, but still.

The honeymoon scene was also great. The broken bed, Edward refusing to sleep with her again, Bella’s attempts to seduce him. Very well done. That whole part of the movie was actually really good. Especially when Bella goes through her suitcase and sees all the super sexy negligee that Alice packed for her and gets all frustrated… especially because she starts wearing it in an attempt to get Edward’s attention.

Speaking of Alice, what happened to her hair? It was always so fun and in this one it was just all flat and slicked down. Also was not a fan of Edward’s new hair, although I never really liked it before. The change was just not for the better, but not for the worse, either, so. Yeah.

There were also some really good one liners in the movie. It was quite humorous. There was a montage of people giving speeches at the wedding that were well done. Bella’s dad gave the predictable “I’m a cop with a gun” speech, but it was still good. There was a comment about her no getting a lot of sleep anymore – funny because vampires don’t sleep and because of wedding night sex. There was also a part where Bella’s parents notice that there is a huge art piece made of graduation caps (since they have all had multiple graduations) – Mom thinks it’s creative and Dad thinks it’s creepy. One of the other lines I liked was when the Cullens were trapped in their home by the wolves and they figured out that baby vampire was “thristy,” Emmett quips “I know how it feels.” Heh.

As the baby was killing Bella, the effects to make her look gaunt and sickly were spectacular. She looked on the edge of death. Pale, grayish, super skinny… very good. The birth scene was also pretty on par. The only problem was that because this was a PG-13 movie, Edward ripping it out if her with his teeth was not really all that graphic, nor was the damage to her body afterwards. And the baby? It was HUGE and had red goo all over it… except for the eyes. Like it had been wearing goggles or something.

The wolves were all awesome, but nothing new with all that. There was a super cheesy scene where they had mind conversations and everyone was all growly voiced. It was the part when Jacob breaks free of the pack and it was all just so super campy, but then again, I’m not sure how else they could have done it. I think it would have been better if the “mind talk” was done in regular voice and not “RAWR IMA GROWLY WOLF” way.

During an after credit scene, the Volturi made a quick appearance. I really liked that scene. The way they sat on their thrones talking was super funny. It really looked like some sort of B movie to me. Loved it.

So, while I am not a super fan of the series – I’ve read the books, but only once and I have only seen the movies one time – I did enjoy this. Was it a cinematic wonder that needs a ton of awards? No. It was like cotton candy for the brain. Fun and sweet, but not really anything of substance, but you know what? That’s alright.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breaking Dawn Pt 1

  1. Kat says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing the movie when it comes out on DVD. I liked reading the books – I feel like seeing the movies is part of staying in-touch with pop culture/staying literate. If that makes any sense at all.

    • saroover says:

      Makes sense to me! One of the reasons I went ahead and read/saw it. The movie was pretty true to the book, I think you will like it!

      I can’t remember, did you read Hunger Games? That movie is coming out soon.

  2. Saw this with my wife; far more her type of film than mine. While I didn’t mind the romance aspect not an awful lot seemed to happen – the werewolf / vampire thing didn’t add anything to a story which could have worked just as well with humans.

Tell me!!!

