All Over and Yet Beginning

Belated Merry Christmas! Jake loves photo time!

So in the flurry of activity that was my trip home for Christmas, I have been absent… from the blog… from the tracking of food… from the running… from the biking. But that’s ok, I had a super fun and cookie filled time at my parents’ house. Now, thoughts of the new year are floating in my head. But first, 2011.

2011 was not too shabby. I finally got out of shift work and into a regular-hour job. Super stoked about that, but not super stoked about the work. Maybe it will get better. If not, 2012 will have me searching for something better. I am starting to reconnect with some of my friends and feel like I have mostly adjusted to working regular hours.

2011 was also the year of the Running and Biking. I can now run a 5k (3.1 miles), which is something I did not think I could do. Granted it is not a super fast pace, but the fact that I can do it is AWESOME. I learned a ton about biking. I have some new gear and can pound out 20 miles fairly easily. Well, I could before this blasted winter ate my evening daylight hours! Hrmph!

So, as 2012 rolls in I was thinking in the same lane as most people at about this time: resolutions. Then I realized that I don’t really do them. I Resolve. Then I get bored… lose track… forget. Around June I do a holy-crap-halfway-through-re-Resolve which lasts about 2 months as well. So I have resolved not to resolute this year. I should be able to manage that. I have, instead, come up with a few Goals. Things I will complete this year. Prizes I can keep my eye on and aim towards. None of this “lose weight” or “curse less” or “procrastinate less” crap. So, without further adieu:

  1. Increase my running distance and compete in a 10k with an eye on 15k.
  2. Increase my speed and complete 5k in 30 mins.
  3. Complete a Century on my bike. Conveniently, there is a bike group that does a race in Talbot. I rode the 20 miler last year and this year want to do the Century. It is not until September.
  4. Complete a Biathlon. There are several offered with Endurance Maryland, the same group that had to cancel the Halloween one last fall. I am aiming to sign up for one later in the season. Not sure I would be ready in March because of the lack of biking I will get done this winter. *realistic*

Not a bad list.

Now, as with most Long Term Goals, one must set Short Term Goals. I will be doing this monthly. I worked out a schedule for January and will see how that goes. It does not look all that demanding, but we shall see. I even made a spread sheet! Woo!

It also means I need to figure out some racing in the middle. Right now, I think the only 2012 Race I am signed up for is The Warrior Dash. I need to rectify that and update my Race Page.

But anyhoo, that is how it looks standing here looking at the next year. Although I’d be lying if it does not feel for some reason like this year is going to hold a lot of change. Hope it’s all good change!

This entry was posted in Bike, Goals, Plan, run. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All Over and Yet Beginning

  1. Sabrina says:

    That’s a great list! A Biathlon will be a great accomplishment!

  2. Kat says:

    I think that’s a great list of goals – they’re things you’re passionate about and you’ll be able to challenge yourself without over-training and risking injury. SO key. There are no absolutes and a lot of great opportunities to succeed. LOVE this.

Tell me!!!

