A New Face

So most people know that I started my Life of Cat Ownership with Cricket. Cricket was a great kitty whose life ended too soon. Shortly after acquiring another kitty, Jake, to keep her company while I worked long hours, Cricket came down with FIP and I had to put her down.

Jake was given the diagnosis of “as long as he makes it past one and a half to two years, he should be in the clear for FIP.” He is know 2.5 and doing well. We had been living a pretty good life together thus far, but I wanted to get him a friend. He has a ton of energy and I wanted him to have a companion. I asked the vet and she said I should be fine with another kitty as long as it was not a kitten. If the cat was between 1 and 2, then I should not have to worry about another case of FIP.

Handsome Jake!

So I thought about it for a while. Then I saw this little darling at Petsmart. She has the same color pattern as Jake, only her splotches are calico instead of tabby. I adopted her and quarantined her in the bathroom until I could get her to the vet. I took her on Monday and she got a clean bill of health. I named her Penny and have been introducing them slowly. Jake has gone from growling and hissing at her to more of a curious inspection. She, on the other hand, is still a bit nervous about him and keeps her distance. She is super affectionate towards me and follows me around like a little shadow. She also has a tiny little meow and is a tiny cat. She is overweight at 8.5 pounds and needs to drop a pound. She makes Jake, a lightweight at 9.0lbs, look massive.

Miss Penny

I am still afraid that she will come down with FIP and I will lose her despite what the vet said, but I want to try once for Jake. I think it would be good for him to have someone to romp with that is about the same age. The vet seems to think it should be fine, so hopefully it will be! I figure six months of worrying before I can be completely comfortable.

This entry was posted in Cats, Jake, Penny. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Face

  1. LA says:

    Cricket was such a sweetheart, I miss her. 😦 I am optimistic all will go well with Miss Penny though – I’ve had kitties my whole life and never had an issue with FIP. I think it was just a tragic fluke that it happened to Cricket. Still, I totally understand being concerned!

    Congrats on the new addition!

  2. Kat says:

    Fingers crossed for your kitties! I definitely think it’s good for cats to have a cat-brother or cat-sister. Especially since otherwise they’re alone during the day! Plus, let’s be serious….one is not that much more challenging than two.

  3. Pingback: March: It’s Over! | Fantabulous Me!

Tell me!!!

