A Song of Ice and Fire: A Dance with Dragons

**SPOILERS ARE ALL OVER THE PLACE!**

Most of you know I am a pretty avid reader. Also, that I have been reading this series. It is such a great series and I was excited to get sucked into this book. I really enjoyed it, once it got going. Seemed to pick up a little slow, but that could be because it has been so long since I read the first four that it took me a while to remember what was going on. The series on HBO has been good at keeping me somewhat up to date, but it is still two books behind. Either way, it got really good… and then it ended. ARG!

I do wish more had been done with Dany and the dragons. Not a lot happened and it drug on and on… it didn’t get good until the last few chapters. She finally got to ride one, but then there was no mention of her until her last chapter where it was revealed she had trouble controlling Drogan and was attempting to walk home. She semi connected with him when her blood riders found her. That was that. I was sad that they had the dragons chained, but I felt it was a bit more realistic. I mean, they are gigantic meat (people are meat) eating beasts. Her attempt at peace by marrying one of the natives was also a good touch, no love, just duty. I was hoping she would go with Quentyn Martell, but that thread ended badly. One should not attempt to tame two dragons with one whip.

Tyrion’s was another that was attempting to get to Dany. His story was interesting, but not all that great. The only part of his journey that was really interesting, at least to me, was the revelation that there was another Targaryen alive, Aegon. He was supposed to be the baby whose brains were smashed all over, but apparently it was a different babe. Tyrion influenced him to stop chasing Dany and to go over to Westeros to fight and have her come to him. Very good idea and, at least at the moment, worthwhile since their forces were taking some lands back. Here’s to holing he does well and gets a dragonandDany.

I was disappointed at how little Arya was featured. She is still on her way to becoming a faceless one. Had a little more about her training and about her trying not to be her, despite her continued connection to her wolf, Nymeria. I just want her to go back to Westeros and kill everyone to avenge her house.

It would have been nice to hear something of Sansa in this one, too.

Oh the wall. THE WALL. Jon Snow. Ugh. Melisandre is all up in their business as is Stannis. A lot happens. The wildlings join up, Stannis goes to take Winterfell, there’s a wedding… And because none of his dealings are traditional, even if they are helpful and logical (dead wildlings become dead soldiers), the steward and some of his cronies turn on him! They stab him. All while Ghost is locked in his room because one of the wildling shapeshifters is there with his boar and Jon was trying to prevent the animals from going at it. Now. Is he dead? It never said he was dead. He could be super-wounded and Melisandra will magically fix him. Or maybe, he is now Ghost. It was mentioned twice that other shapeshifters would send their spirit or mind or essence into animals. The last thing Jon did was reach out to Ghost. Seems like when they are not actually called dead, they have a fighting chance.

That was what happened to Asha. She took an axe to the head and was still alive. Kinda rooting for her. She may be ironborn and kin to Theon (who is another not-dead person), but I like her. I like her a lot. She’s just so practical and strong. Really pulling for her to get through all this. Even Theon. He is tortured and brainwashed, but eventually attempts to do something right, namely get Jayne away from The Bastard who has her named as Arya, even though he is super afraid. I don’t like him, but I do think he has paid a great deal and am ok with him living through this ordeal. It isn’t like he’ll ever hold power or be able to swing a sword again.

Cersei was an interesting twist. I thought for sure she was going to be killed off. Instead, she was shaved and forced to walk through the streets naked. It was sad to see such a proud woman broken, but she did deserve it. She also still has a trial and that could still be her death. As much as I hated her, I loved hating her. Now that she is pious and humble, I wonder who will fill the void.

There were other threads, too, but they just pushed the plot along. Jaimie reappeared, but it was mainly to usher in Brianna who was another one that was “killed” in a previous book. Victarian Greyjoy was there, too, but it was mostly just to set up for a battle that didn’t happen yet. There was also political intrigue involving The Onion Knight, but that is still developing. Really hoping that ends in some Frey deaths.

Really liked reading this, but again, it took about 300 pages to get going. I guess in a book of 1100 pages, that is sort of quick. And once it did get going, I couldn’t put it down. I read the last 600 pages in one day.

Yes, I know. I have a problem.

I was glad I finally picked it up. Probably would have been better if I would have stuck to the plan of reading the first books over, but whatevs. It was still worth the pages.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Song of Ice and Fire: A Dance with Dragons

  1. Kat says:

    1. I do not think that Jon snow is dead.
    2. Probably one of the best books (DwD) I have ever read. I cannot wait for the next.

Tell me!!!

