Real Food, for realzies

I have been busy. I didn’t want to blog. I went to Saint Louis, I went to Tennessee, I went to Texas.

St Louis Zoo on my trusty steed

St Louis Zoo on my trusty steed

Looking good at (almost) 80... also making me look tall!

Looking good at (almost) 80… also making me look tall!

Me and LeeAnn at The Alamo with a random person pointing out bullet damage.

Me and LeeAnn at The Alamo with a random person pointing out bullet damage.

I also had a lot of social engagements. Oh, and I picked up spinning at work with some of my coworkers, to which I owe Addi since she got me back into it with a stellar, kick-butt 2 hour course. Ouch. But in a good way.

Good thing about being busy? Lots of fun! Bad thing? Not being able to and not caring about what I ate. Oops. Also, more drinking.

I also over this time read Pandora’s Lunchbox by Melanie Warner which had a lot of good data in it about what is in food. She was pretty good about telling what it was without going off on an “OMG WE ARE ALL GONNA DIE OF CANCER/OBESITY!” tangent, which was nice. It also harkened back to Pollan’s Omnivore’s Dilemma, another good one on food. Add on 100daysofrealfood.com and I am interested in real food. Woo!

I started working on it last week, starting to eliminate some processed foods. Made me feel a lot better since it was the week after I had been in Texas, which meant lots of travel food. It was nice to eat for real foods.

Now, 100 days is a long, long time and I am very non-committal. Lucky for me, there is a 10-day option. So I signed up and will start on that tomorrow! So between then and next Wed, it’s pretty much all natural. I will be sad this Wed because of the pot-luck at work, but I think I should be fine other than that.

Famous last words? Probably.

This entry was posted in Diet, Food, Fun, Goals, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Real Food, for realzies

  1. You can handle 10 days! It’s summer, too, so lots of fresh good fruits and veggies around.

Tell me!!!

