Where be my Z’s? (And some other stuff, too)

I am still not sleeping. It has made me grumpy and lethargic. I want to know why. I have tried benedryl, melatonin, and exercise. Oh, and I only have one cup of coffee in the morn, other than that, I am sans caffeine. Buh.

The lethargy is really bad. Haven’t done any work outs this week. I was busy this weekend with kayaking and cleaning and cooking and shopping, so I wasn’t just sitting on my booty. And really, after being outside all day and on the water, you would think I would have been tuckered out. No joy.

Kayaking was super fun, though! I went with LeeAnn, Kerry, and Kathy. It was a smaller group than I thought would go — c’mon, kayaking followed by wine tasting followed by picnicking? — but it was still a lot of fun!

Group shot! Although I managed to fail at scoothin' in

Group shot! Although I managed to fail at scoothin’ in

When we hit the water, we were going from a river outlet up the river, McIntyre Run. Apparently, the tide was out and we were going against the current. It was a super sunny and warm day, but there was a breeze and we all figured, or at least Kerry and I figured, that it would be ok to go against the current on the way out since we would be tired on the way back. Yes. It was a bit hard going, but not super challenging, still fun. We saw a lot of wildlife — herons, fish, dragonflies, bald eagles, ospreys, muskrat — as we made our way up the run. We were headed towards the winery, but didn’t make it all the way there via water because some trees were down. Sad.

Definitely glad the guy called the night before to see if we wanted to start from the wharf instead of the river. We had been scheduled to go the other way, but there were reports of downed trees and such, making it mucky and more work to get through. This way, we went up the river until it was blocked and turned around. Lucky for us, it happened to be halfway through our time! Woo!

And with the current we go! Or so we thought… dun dun DUUUN! The tide was coming in, so we actually had to fight the current. Lame! No easy paddling for us! Work those arms!!

We then followed up with a trip to Port Leonardtown Winery. We had a groupon for tastings and two free bottles! We ended up getting three bottles total for our picnic! I did find it funny that all of us opted to try sweet whites and sweet reds. Nothing dry for this bunch!

Tasting time is happy time!

Tasting time is happy time!

After eating, we went in, got some bottles for home, and headed out. It was a lot of fun and was a great way to celebrate the fourth, even if it was a few days late.

Wraps, deviled eggs, watermelon and cheesecake.... with wine!

Wraps, deviled eggs, watermelon and cheesecake…. with wine!

We just got a few bottles...

We just got a few bottles…

Sunday I spent running errands. I got some new bird things for my lanai and groceries. Then I spent the rest of the afternoon prepping veggies and foods.

Monday was work (EEEWWW!!) and then turned out to be pet day. I cleaned out the cat boxes, cleaned the aquarium and spruced up the crabitat! It was a lot of work, but my house is happier!

Yes, I have crabs...

Yes, I have crabs… although you can’t see them in this shot, just some empty shells

Today after work, I tried to nap, but the upstairs neighbors elephant children were active. That and I still can’t sleep (see above) even for naps. I baked a cake for work and am hoping to get some sleep tonight. If I can get in some time and not feel all dead, I would like to get a run in before work even though I have spin class after. I feel like I need to move, I just gots no energy!

One good thing is that I started back into the real foods thing again. I did pretty ok on Sunday, although I did get a cookie at MOMs. Other than that, I am back on track!

 

PS: all the kayak photos are courtesy of LeeAnn since I never remember to actually photograph the goings ons of things. Really need to work on that… I even brought my camera!

This entry was posted in Crabbies, Diet, Food, Fun, Sleepy, social. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me!!!

